New Year Hanbok

It’s been a while since I’ve done any doll stuff to post! My play time has been all BDO and D&D since my last post. Then at the end of December I hurt my neck and shoulder badly, and couldn’t grind at all. I blame the Archer. -_- His crossbow was better than his longbow, so I tried to stay in pre-Awakening most of the time. That meant lots of Shift-W and Shift-Space. Although I do use a game pad (wouldn’t be able to game without it, as my keyboard is in Dvorak layout), all that Shift was constant use of the left little finger, one of my problem fingers. Lying down made annoying waves of pain in the left triceps area, so I had to sleep on the sofa curled up on a slanted sofa pillow.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
My setup: Belkin n52te gamepad and Kinesis Advantage2 ergonomic keyboard

I’m feeling better and was able to grind on Valk for an hour yesterday; the first time I tried since December. But I’ll not grind on Archer, ever again!

In January one of the BDO fashions inspired me to sew again. ^ㅂ^

Imbrien girls celebrate Seollal

Kira has been spending a lot of time in Heidel lately, but went back to her home in Calpheon to celebrate the Lunar New Year with her little sister Tessa. They don’t have any other family in the Republic of Calpheon, so it was a small celebration with just the two of them.

Traditionally only male relatives call on the spirits of the ancestors. But an exception is made for those like Tessa, who can feel the presence of spirits and hear them speak.

Tessa and Kira are wearing hanbok from Requiem Art Designs’ Traditional Korean Hanbok pattern, resized and modified similar to the in-game outfit.

The PS patterns are sized for “Petite Slimline” dolls, like Monster High, Ever After High, and Obitsu 23cm figures. With her doll sizing charts, I determined to print the jeogori (jacket) pattern at 170% for Kira, on a Curvy Made-to-Move Barbie body, and 150% for Tessa, a Volks New-EB B. (Yes, they both recently got body upgrades: Tessa from Volks New-EB A, and Kira from the body Tessa is on now.) I cut the pattern pieces with about 1/4″ seams, because that’s what I prefer when sewing by machine.

The chima skirts are from the pattern, but shortened to above the knees…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

…and I added overskirts, based on the Froufy Barbie Skirt by Craftiness Is Not Optional, to imitate the style in the game. The chima and overskirts, especially Tessa’s, could have done with more frouf.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Side-by-sides:

Valk_hanbok
Kira (Tankietka) modelling New Year Hanbok (Valkyrie)
Witch_hanbok
Tessa (Kukolka) modelling New Year Hanbok (Witch)

The norigae (pendant accessories) are made from embroidery thread and beads, with Fray Check to keep the butterflies’ shape.

Black Desert Online Hanbok

Thanks for reading!~

2 thoughts on “New Year Hanbok

Leave a comment